## SOCIETY OF PUBLIC TEACHERS OF LAW

## AUSTRALASIAN UNIVERSITIES LAW SCHOOLS ASSOCIATION

A joint conference of the Society and the Association was held at the University of Sydney, Australia, from August 23-27, 1965, under the presidency of Professor D. P. Derham. A United Kingdom delegation was led by Professor J. L. Montrose. One hundred and four members and visitors attended the conference which was arranged to coincide with the Third Commonwealth and Empire Law Conference.

The papers were read and discussed in the following order:

"Problems of Federalism — Canada",

Professor G. F. Curtis (University of British Columbia).

"Hedley Byrne v. Heller & Co.",

Mr. A. Honoré (Oxford University).

"Judicial Administration: The Subject and Some Applications", Professor G. Sawer (Australian National University).

"Recent Developments in Jurisprudence",

Professor J. Stone (University of Sydney).

"The University Teaching of Professional Techniques",

Professor H. R. Gray (University of Canterbury). "The Duties of Directors and the Articles of Association",

Professor R. W. Parsons (University of Sydney).

At the Annual Dinner of the Association members were the guests of the University of Sydney. Other entertainment included a cocktail party by Messrs. Butterworth & Co. (Australia) Ltd., and evening parties by The Law Book Company Limited and the University of Sydney Law School.

It was agreed that the 1966 Conference of the Association should be

held in Canberra.

A gavel and block was presented to the Association by Dr. R. E. Megarry on behalf of the Society. The gavel is inscribed: "To commemorate the visit of The Society of Public Teachers of Law of the United Kingdom, August, 1965."

It was resolved that the warmest congratulations of those present at the Conference should be conveyed to those members of the Society and the Association who had been appointed as Law Commissioners in the United Kingdom and in Australia.

The following office-bearers for the Association were elected for the ensuing year: President, Professor J. E. Richardson (Australian National University); Vice-President, Professor H. A. J. Ford (University of Melbourne); Executive Members, Professor C. C. Aikman (Victoria University of Wellington) and Mr. H. Whitmore (University of Sydney—now Professor of Law in the Australian National University); Secretary, Mr. D. Hambly (Australian National University).